The Arts

The Arts

Saturday, January 19, 2019 - 10:00am to 6:00pm
Helsel

Want to shoot like Ansel Adams? Black and white photography reveals the essence of landscape like nothing else. We'll cover composition, seeing with fresh eyes, finding good landscapes, converting RAW files to B&W, and infrared capture. We’ll also review your...

Sunday, February 17, 2019 - 10:00am to 6:00pm
Helsel

From tiny wildflowers to broad landscapes, spend a day learning how to translate nature's beauty into strong, expressive photos. We'll cover principles of good composition, light direction, time of day, weather, and tides in a mixture of lecture, slide shows, exercises...

Friday, March 22, 2019 - 6:00pm to Sunday, March 24, 2019 - 2:00pm
Crabbe
...
Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 10:00am to 3:30pm
Antze

Spend a day dissecting and studying spring flowers. Learn basic flower botany and create a beautiful study sheet documenting your explorations. We will work in graphite and colored pencil as we learn various techniques for portraying these small yet important plant...

Friday, April 5, 2019 - 7:00pm to Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 2:00pm
Trimble

 

...
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 9:00am to 2:00pm
Peifer

 

...
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 6:00pm to Sunday, April 28, 2019 - 2:00pm
Crabbe

This photography class turns our eyes toward the smaller, more intimate details of the world around us - not necessarily tiny, close-up macro photos. We will explore how to use our vision to recognize and isolate important aspects of scenes and locations through both...

Saturday, April 27, 2019 - 9:30am to 4:00pm
Kennard

We will begin small, twined baskets made with a diminutive relative of tule, known as “sweetgrass” among native weavers in the Pacific Northwest. As well as being fragrant, it is strong and soft, and lends itself to a variety of weaving strokes and color treatments.