Natural World

Natural World

Saturday, April 27, 2019 - 8:00am to 2:00pm
Plummer

Point Reyes offers a deep, rich underworld of life and bird-talk awaiting the patient listener, and birding by ear can be accelerated with simple techniques and awareness training. Participants will practice deep listening in the field and learn to understand baseline...

Friday, May 3, 2019 - 5:00pm to Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 12:00pm
Farr

Becoming Coyote: The Art of Awareness

...
Chimney Rock & Drakes Bay
Saturday, May 4, 2019 - 10:00am to 4:30pm
Wimpfheimer

During the spring Drakes Beach and the Chimney Rock area are some of the most dynamic parts of the National Seashore. The wildflower display at the headlands can be dramatic both in its diversity and beauty. Cormorants, murres and other seabirds have begun nesting on...

Point Reyes Headlands
Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 10:00am to 2:00pm
Dreskin

Description:

...
Saturday, May 18, 2019 - 9:00am to 4:00pm
Herlocker

Description: 

...
Friday, May 24, 2019 - 6:00pm to Sunday, May 26, 2019 - 10:00am

Description: 

...
Saturday, May 25, 2019 - 10:00am to 3:00pm

Description: 

...
Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 10:00am to 4:00pm
Sorbet

Meet the arboreal residents that call the Point Reyes home. Whether you know them by sight or all you see is "green,” join our guided hike and learn the stories of the bishop pine, Douglas-fir, blue gum eucalyptus, and others, plus their interactions with the ecosystem...

Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 9:00am to 4:00pm
Karachewski

Learn about the geology of the Monterey Formation at scenic Sculptured Beach. We'll also explore the coastal geology of limantour Beach, Drakes Estero, and the coastal bluffs. Lastly we will have a discussion on climate change, ice ages, and sea level changes. 

...
Sculptured Beach
Saturday, July 6, 2019 - 9:00am to 1:00pm
Freeman

Come behold the beauty of what lives in the intertidal zone. Exploring Duxbury Reef at low tide will reveal the diversity of life that thrives in this dynamic space between land and ocean. Sea stars, giant green anemone, and purple sea urchins are just a few of the...

Tide pool
Saturday, July 13, 2019 - 9:00am to 4:30pm
Karachewski

Discover San Francisco’s geology and wild seascapes on 3 hikes in the Golden Gate National Recreation Area (GGNRA) from the Presidio to Fort Funston. At the Presidio, we will hike down to Marshall Beach to observe serpentinite bluffs and landslides. At Lands End, hike...

Saturday, July 27, 2019 - 9:00am to 3:00pm
Chiriboga

Birdwatching can be incredibly intimidating, especially when you’re just beginning. Birds hide, they don’t sit still and some are only 9-10 centimeters in size. Join Sam and learn just how easy it can be to identify common birds. We’ll explore bird identification,...

Saturday, August 24, 2019 - 10:00am to 4:00pm
Herlocker

This course will focus on learning which characteristics are most important to identify insects in the field. Participants will learn to use an insect net and how to handle specimens for proper viewing. Particular emphasis will be devoted to treating these creatures...

Sunday, August 25, 2019 - 9:00am to 4:00pm
Wimpfheimer

Based on where the birds are, we'll explore either Abbotts Lagoon or Limantour Beach. The walk will focus on migratory shorebirds, but we’ll see a variety of terns, raptors, and other water birds as well. Expect to walk 3-4 miles over uneven terrain.

...
Friday, September 6, 2019 - 6:00pm to Sunday, September 8, 2019 - 1:00pm
Walla-Murphy

This retreat will introduce the foundations of wildlife tracking. We will look through the broad lens of habitat patterns, as well as at the details of tracks, sign, and scat, to better understand our animal neighbors and how they survive around us. Accommodations...

Sunday, September 15, 2019 - 10:30am to 1:30pm

Description

...
Saturday, September 21, 2019 - 10:00am to 4:00pm

Description

...
Saturday, September 28, 2019 - 9:00am to Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 5:00pm
Pincetich, Ph.D.

*Classes will be taking place weekly on Saturdays 9:00am to 5:00pm from September 28 through October 26th. 

...
Sunday, September 29, 2019 - 7:30pm to 10:30pm
Freeman

Description

...
Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 10:00am to 5:00pm
Binney

Description

...